Coffee* machines

*The liquid they spew is allegedly coffee…

Anyway, the coffee machine at work is a lot like this one:

Simple to use – plug in your money, press the selection you want, add sugar (if required), add water, then scald yourself as you carefully carry the resulting brew to your desk.

As the meerkats say “Simples!”

But this machine has an ulterior motive – that is, to confuse me…

Let me explain: when you insert money, it beeps thus:

1p – 1 beep
2p – 2 beeps
5p – 1 beep
10p – 1 beep

I remarked to someone the other day that the 2p gave 2 beeps – why? they thought for a while and came up with the idea “Ah, it’s because it’s a bigger coin!”

1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, £1, £2

And lo, he could be right.

This answer answered my query, and I went on my way happy.

Until this morning.

Having little change, I had to feed the machine a 20p coin (drinks are 15p each, and the machine doesn’t give change, so this is something I try to avoid doing – unless I’m “getting a round in”)

The fecker beeped twice, and, as you can see from the pic – the 20p is far smaller than the 10p, but it made the machine beep twice!

This is messing with my head somewhat…I know – stop thinking about the minor things.

But I can’t stop thinking about it…

Oh dear – I really did link to the meerkat site didn’t I…call the men in white coats.

About snee

I was born at a very early age...
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Coffee* machines

  1. Pingback: ‘Doing a Charlie’ « Paul’s inane ramblings

Leave a comment